US & Korea To Announce Reciprocal Trusted Traveller Agreement

Secretary of Homeland Security Janet Napolitano, U.S. Customs and Border Protection Acting Commissioner David V. Aguilar and Republic of Korea Minster of Justice Jae-Jin Kwon will jointly announce a reciprocal agreement for each nation’s trusted traveler programs – the U.S. Global Entry and Korea Smart Entry Service – Tuesday, June 12 at Washington Dulles International Airport.

Korea is the third country to have a fully reciprocal, publicly available trusted traveler program with the United States, joining the Netherlands and Canada and is the first permanent trusted traveler program the U.S. has in Asia.

Global Entry kiosks and Smart Entry Service e-gates allow expedited clearance for pre-approved, low-risk travelers. Both programs allow members to be processed in a fraction of the time it takes travelers using the traditional inspection process.